A shake and A shimmy.

I’ve been trying to write this for 2 weeks!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<

I had the pleasure of performing in my first public show for What’s New Pussycat? at the Biltmore. Hosted by the fabulous Burgundy Brixx and the PURRRRRRRRRRRFESSOR! What a lovely couple they are.

The nervousness and excitement that I felt before the show was like no other. I couldn’t eat and I couldn’t stay still either. The anticipation of going on that stage to show an audience what I’m all about was one of the most amazing feelings that I could have ever experienced. Having the other girls with me performing that night was good energy – we were all feeling the same way.

I am so lucky.

For years, I have been trying to find something that can help celebrate my body and others..and do it in such a way that it is not only an art form, but an outlet. I have had my share of weight loss, weight gains, health issues, etc. Today I am learning to love my body the way it is, and to celebrate it. To be confident.

I am excited to get started on this journey. I have met so many fantastic people so far. I have had so much support from friends, from my love, from people in the burlesque community who I look up to and admire.

The other day I was thinking about how so many years have passed and I’ve never been able to find a passion – something that I am truly passionate about in a way that is physical. I’ve always loved to dance and watch people dance… Just ask the people I work with who get to see me grind it on the dance floor every year. And I do without embarrassment, because it’s fun. It’s not something to be ashamed of. Once you surpass that judgment, you’ll be okay. Sadly, I do not think this goes for all people.

I am taking classes to further myself and to learn. There is so much to learn!

What's New Pussycat?

She was a hoochie coocher!

I remember telling my love’s Mother that I was starting burlesque. She just stared at me with her pursed judgmental lips and asked me if her son was okay with that. IS HE OKAY WITH THAT? It’s my body, my choice and no one is the boss of this body but me.  It made me realize how awful this image of dancing is to some people.

Explaining my burlesque name: Minnie Peron

I have a love of Minnie Mouse, if that wasn’t apparent enough, but I also have had a fascination not only with the country of Argentina (which I’ve yet to visit), but with Evita Peron. I thought the 2 forces combined would make up the persona of which I’ve felt in my mind for so many years.. and Minnie Peron was born. A little bit sweet, a little bit dictator-ish. I’ve called myself Gina ‘Argentina’ for many years – so combining the other forces made sense.

Leave a Reply

