Journey to Burlesque for Minnie Peron.

I’ve been practicing a lovely thing called Burlesque, and I love it. Since February 2012 I’ve been taking classes on and off.. buying things to make costumes with and trying to perfect (it will never happen) the art of Burlesque.

I am absolutely loving it. At a time and an age that I feel more and more comfortable in my skin. I may not like where my body and my weight is at this time, but I feel comfortable if that makes sense to anyone other than me.

It’s not just about sexuality, it’s about opening up yourself – not only about how you can be perceived by others, but most importantly how you perceive yourself.

When I look in the mirror, I only see a beautiful woman surrounded by beautiful curves. There are days when I don’t feel beautiful, but mostly, I do. And I would never lie about how I feel about myself, because I only have one life and I don’t want to spend it feeling miserable about my body. I don’t even care what anyone else thinks about me, or my weight, or how I shouldn’t be wearing a bikini on the beach (I do, and I love it). I will never apologize for me, or for my body, or how much weight I am or not.

Burlesque has taught me a lot of things about myself and others. It’s not just about dancing. Women are beautiful and gorgeous and sensual… So far no guys in my class, but I’m sure they’d be the same.

I have people around me that support me so much, that I could never ever fathom giving this art form up. Even if I just have to perform in my own kitchen. I am lucky to have a partner that not only supports me, but ENCOURAGES me. Even the step-kids get to take part.. they love to help with dance moves and gluing sequins on various items.

All in all, it’s an awesome experience in which I hope goes a lot further. On May 24th, I will be performing in front of a selected audience, along with a few other girls. I am excited and also nervous, but definitely not shy or even scared. Thank you Jana Shishkin for being an amazing instructor and for not making any boundaries and for letting me be myself and encouraging differences.

 

One thought on “Journey to Burlesque for Minnie Peron.

Leave a Reply

