My Night with the Amnesia Machine

Transient Global Amnesia. It sounds like band, doesn’t it? The title came from the band My Life with the Thrill Kill Kult (kudos to anyone who knows!)

Thursday evening September 27th, it’s 6pm. Darcy arrives home from work and I’m standing in the kitchen in a slinky outfit stirring the risotto for our dinner. I have wine ready and on the table. We eat dinner and drink half a glass of wine and go to the bedroom .. This part is censored 😉

Afterwards, Darcy goes to shower, comes back and sits on the bed and says “I feel very disoriented, I have to sit down.” Then proceeds to ask me what we had for dinner and what day it was. At first I laughed, thinking he was trying to be funny, but when he kept getting up to get water because his mouth was dry, I knew something was really wrong.

Knowing Darcy how I know him, these behaviours were different. I tried to call his brother so he could recall a conversation they had the night prior, but I couldn’t get a hold of him. After him asking me several times what day it was, I promptly called 8-1-1 which is our Healthline. They referred me to the Ambulance and within 10 minutes they were in the house.

The paramedic asked me when this happened and I said “Right after we were intimate.” He said it sounded like a concussion, but we were sure that he didn’t hit his head anywhere or injure himself that evening. That I knew of….

Fast forward to the hospital. As he was in the ambulance on the way – I stayed home so that I could get myself together and drive my car to the hospital. I happened to google the term ‘amnesia after sex’. I came up with an article that exactly described what had just happened.

http://www.livescience.com/16488-sex-mind-blowing-amnesia.html

Amazing. If this was the case there would be no implications of this ever happening again and it was a temporary thing. Except, it lasted way longer than a few hours and that had me scared.

Once he was admitted they brought him back to his bed, where he would spend the night. They did a lumbar puncture, a CT scan and all the other tests you need to do in order to make sure it wasn’t a brain or head injury, or a stroke.

I knew deep down inside what it was, but I was waiting for them to come to the conclusion. The resident Neurologist (a young kid, really) had me take video on his iPhone as well.

After 2:30 am I went home to get a couple hours of sleep. Darcy couldn’t stop talking and trying to recall the date (which had me and nurse in a ton of stitches).. but I needed rest and so did he, which apparently didn’t happen for him. They even turned off the lights above him and he still wouldn’t be quiet. It was endearing, but I’m sure the staff were tired of his incessant babbling and needing to know the date.

I arrived back the hospital around 7am, when Dr. Foti the Neurlogist that was on call came for a visit. He had confirmed that he had a case of  ‘Transient Global Amnesia’ and that I should keep an eye on him for the next few days. Which also meant Darcy latching onto my arm everywhere we went (we had to get groceries!)

We’re happy to have that experience behind us, as it was scary, but it was an eye opener for both of us. I kind of love him more now than I ever did before. The thought that I could have lost him tore a hole in my stomach. As of right now, as I write this he’s golfing in Palm Springs.

Thanks to all the staff at VHG, especially Emma the Nurse.

 

Leave a Reply

