Architecture in Helsinki w/Hooray for Earth!

It’s been ages since I’ ve done a show review.

Ever since Rocksellout.com became defunct, so did I it seems.

Last night I went to a show that made me wonder why I haven’t been to a show in so long.  Right, Sunday evenings when you have to work Mondays and you’re drinking 151 and Diet Coke isn’t such a good idea, but bands that you love are.

First up Hooray for Earth – where on earth did they come from? Why haven’t they been on my playlist? Be still my partially beating heart they made me almost shed a tear. Definitely tinges of M83 sounds paired with a little A Place to Bury Strangers, and maybe some Depeche Mode. But they are their own and they are to be loved. Like I said to the band, they create sexual music, and you can feel it. All I know is that the people need to know about Hooray for Earth, and Vancouver, I am here to tell you to listen to them.

Architecture in Helsinki of course totally shined. I remember when I first heard them in 2007 and it was a ‘what the fuck moment’ and I totally fell in love. Of course, the song I was totally waiting for – Contact High was the last song. A good ending to the night. Great performers and a total dance a thon with my feet.

Both of these bands are not for everyone and I immediately figured that out when people asked me what show I was going to, and I was met with a very confused look. Yo, not Finland. They’re from Australia. Tons of Australians at the show too, which was awesome.

Next to the Jens Lekman show I went to a couple years ago, this is definitely one of the best shows I’ve been to in my show career.

My favourite part of the evening was when I randomly went up to someone and asked them why they weren’t dancing and their reply was “This is Vancouver, they don’t dance.” Don’t be that person that doesn’t dance when the music MAKES YOU WANT TO DANCE. Vancouver, I love you, but every single show I’ve been to was met with bobbing heads and tapping feet. Just move your fucking bodies, it’s not that hard. And it’s fun and you make people smile, so DANCE! The 4 of us took it to the floor and I think at least the 2 of us danced.

Thanks to Architecture in Helsinki and Hooray for Earth for putting on amazing show. Vancouver needs more of your types kicking up the dust.

Watch Hooray for Earth’s ‘True Loves’ video here :  True Loves

My Photographs, click after the jump (which didn’t turn out so good, so disappointed):

HFE minus the Drummer + a cute girl.

Hooray!

HFE Keys.

AIH Keys.

Most of AIH.

Cameron Bird of AIH.

Leave a Reply

