Remember September

September 29th is what would have been my 13th wedding anniversary if I didn’t leave him in 2007.

This year on September 29th passed me by without even a thought about the date. Except today, it hit me.

Being married for almost 10 years is a chore for people. It was for me. I know that being married is very important to some, but now that I’ve had the chance, I can’t see myself falling into being married again.

For everyone it’s a different reason. To me it’s a piece of paper and more of a chance to get divorced. So if you’re not married in the first place you can’t get divorced, so it leaves little chance to do so. That’s how I see it anyway.

I was never a big fan of weddings anyway.

I can’t actually find an exact figure of the divorce rate this past year, but it seems to be around 40%. Not to mention those that are separated and are not actually divorced.. I’m sure that’s another statistic as well (and I’m sure it’s MANY, considering my Mom and Dad are still married and they split when I was 6).

Can you imagine when you get married that almost 40% will be divorced eventually? Yes, that might sound cynical, but it’s the truth.

I’m a skeptic at heart, so I analyze these things. Why? I don’t know. It’s fun, and sometimes I like to take part in being right, even though it’s apparently negative (you lose friends this way, but clearly if they were your friends in the first place you wouldn’t have an issue, but I DIGRESS now..)

And so, I’m not saying to never invite me to your wedding or take part or photograph it, it’s just not for me.

Leave a Reply

