Marriage, Babies and Houses (and maybe a couple dogs)

I’m not getting married: I’ve already done that once. A lot of people I know are getting married. I am happy for them.

I’m not having a baby: My boyfriend has 2 kids (fine with me, even better for my vag, it’s still intact.) A lot of people I know have kids or are having them. Happy for them.

I’m not buying a house: I don’t want to commit to one place and renting is just fine for me. I don’t want to be pressured into buying one or getting a lecture either.

Dogs: I have a cat. Maybe when I decide that’s not enough, I will get me a P

apillon.

For all of the above, it’s just not for me. Other than the dogs. The day I got married I vowed not to have a child. Then I got divorced. Then I met a man that has  2 wonderful children that I’m not the Mom to. And I’m okay with that. Because I am free. I like being free. I also like hanging out with the kids too, ’cause they’re pretty wild and full of life.

I have a pretty good life, I do. No attachments other than having a relationship. No mortgage to pay. No baby butts to wipe. I can go out when I please, come when I please, do what I please.

That’s not to say that people with children can’t. They are just limited sometimes.

Kudos to the people that do it, and kudos that don’t. It’s just not the life for me. Do what makes you happy, because ultimately if you don’t, you’re not going to be happy. And life is about doing what makes you happy.

🙂

4 thoughts on “Marriage, Babies and Houses (and maybe a couple dogs)

  1. This may just reinforce the stereotype that Americans are just about money, but in the States, both marriage and home ownership help a huge amount with taxes. Not that it’s a huge amount of extra money, but an extra trip a year maybe?

    But, I’m happy that you’re happy and what makes life fun is knowing what you want! 🙂

  2. Thank you for being balanced on this… too often the “haves” and the “don’t haves and don’t want to haves” get into snarky little passive-aggressive battles over who has the better/more fulfilling life. Who cares? As long as you enjoy where you are, right? I think as long as you’re content, keep being your own kind of free!

Leave a Reply

