I had an A+ in Communications, isn’t that enough?

How does one become a writer? How do they get noticed? Some by accident, some on purpose, and some just go begging. Do they need to write for a long time? Or a short time?

What makes one a good writer?

I’ve read plenty of books. The current book I’m reading is ‘One Fifth Avenue’, yes by Candace Bushnell who also created Sex and the City. Guess what? I don’t like SATC, but I like One Fifth Avenue.

I was never one for fiction, until I started reading Chuck Palahniuk, Nick Hornby and Douglas Coupland. All 3 great male authors with an ability to make you think outside the box. My kind of thinking. Chuck Palahniuk caters to my sick and twisted mind and humour. So much so that I will tell people to read Choke, they’d ask why, I tell them and they become stunned. I just don’t get the mentality of reading fairy lite books. Fairy Lite = surface non funny light hearted shit. Dig a little deeper, why don’t you?

Candace Bushnell? What kind of writing is that? This is the genre I like to call ‘Tartlike’. It has sex, drugs, celebrity, writers, authors, rock n roll, older men dating younger women, drama. All the things that I like to read about when I’m not reading about writing that make me think. So I make fun of people for reading this stuff on the constant, but I’m allowed to read it once in a while.

Truth be told, people like Tartness. They love it. They bask in it. They want to be the Tart. The hard part is admitting that they do. I am admitting it.

Now, if Chuck Palahniuk can create a sick and twisted tartlike book I’d be in heaven (if in fact it exists, otherwise I’ll just be in a fictional sort of heaven which would be like being in the Maldives

? Right)

Leave a Reply

