Quarter Life Crisis

My therapist long ago once told me that I would never be satisfied. I don’t know if this was the best thing to say to a person like me or if it was a blessing in disguise.

I’m still trying to figure it out.

I admire people these days that know what they want to do in life. And I don’t mean just having a job they love. I’m talking about life.

Great friends, great lover, great job, great everything.

Still not satisfied. I want more. I want be able to create & learn & love more & not hate so much.

This brings me back to the satisfaction point.

All the things I do and love satisfy me. Will other things add to my satisfaction?

Every 6 months I go through a spell. I freak out on myself. ‘Never satisfied…’ plays over and over and over again in my head.

And I don’t know how to stop it. I’m an arist. Deep down inside I yearn to create and paint and take photographs, but there is something holding back. It’s called fear and rejection. This is normal, right?

3 thoughts on “Quarter Life Crisis

  1. It’s normal if you’re crazy. Wait, perhaps I should clarify 🙂

    I completely get this feeling. I struggle with this feeling often. I love my life and, on most levels, it’s pretty close to (my idea of) perfect. But I have moments where I feel dissatisfied. I want more – I want more from myself. Especially with regards to the creative part. Often, I can’t even define what that “more” would mean. Still… I think it’s a certain type of personality. Some seem to be satisfied.

Leave a Reply

